Plaquemines Parish Council

Job Posting for Council Attorney

View the advertisement



View the 2022 Port and Council Meeting Calendar

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Plaquemines Parish has nine Council Members. Each serving one district and are elected to 4-year terms with a maximum of 2 consecutive terms. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman change annually beginning in January and are voted in by the council members.

Tyronne Edwards

District 1

Brian Champagne

District 2

Christopher "Chris" Schulz

District 3

Dr. Stuart J. Guey, Jr.

District 4

Dr. Stuart J. Guey, Jr.

Dr. Stuart J. Guey Contact & Biography

Patricia L. "Patty" McCarty

District 5

Lloyd "Ronnie" Newsom, Jr.

District 6

Carlton M. LaFrance, Sr.

District 7

Carlton M. LaFrance, Sr.

Carlton LaFrance Contact & Biography

Mitch Jurisich, Jr.

District 8

Mark “Hobbo” Cognevich

District 9

Mark "Hobbo" Cognevich

Hobbo Cognevich Contact & Biography

Council Secretaries

Council Purpose

As the Parish’s legislative body, the Plaquemines Parish Council represents the entire population of the Parish and is empowered by the Parish Charter for Local Self-Government to formulate Parish-wide policy. Plaquemines Parish operates under a President/Council form of Government.